To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Set up a MS Teams online meeting from MyBeckett


1. Introduction

This is a staff guide to setting up a MS Teams meeting from a MyBeckett module. We recommend this approach if you are going to run a MS Teams meeting for students who are all enrolled on the same module.

You can also set up an online meeting directly via MS Teams. This is useful if your attendees are not all enrolled on the same module.

Please note, you do not need a MS Teams site setting up in order to use this meeting tool.

Before you start setting up a meeting, ensure you're using Google Chrome.


a. Before you begin creating the meeting link please ensure your Module opens on 'Welcome' you will need a content item on this page too.  The meeting link will be created in the first content area in your module menu under Welcome and can be renamed if you wish . Visit our guide to changing your module homepage.

b. In the Module Management menu at the bottom left, click Module Tools.

Module Tools

c. Click Microsoft Teams

MS Teams link

d. If prompted, click Allow.

Allow button

e. Click Sign in.

Sign in button

f. Click Create meeting link.

Create meeting link

g. Type a name for your online meeting. It is a good idea to include the date and time of the online meeting so that students can easily identify the appropriate link e.g. Monday 23 March 2020 Seminar Group A.

h. Select the start and end date and time for your online meeting. Make sure that this is correct, as the link will become available for students at the date and time you choose.

Title and date

i. Click Create.

Create button

j. Click the Copy button to allow the Meeting link to be created; a pop up box stating that it has embedded it, click OK (You may see this at the top of your browser as a Blue button)

k. To return to your module, click the module name at the top left see example of this below (avoid hitting the back button in your browser as this cancels the link).

Module name breadcrumb

l. The meeting link will be created in the first content area in your module menu under Welcome (NB: Visit our guide to change the homepage).

The Meeting link will automatically become visible to students one hour before your online meeting is due to start. At the end of the meeting, the link will become hidden from students automatically.Module menu

Example link

*Please note, when students click the link they may see a message about external URLs. You can avoid this by changing the link to open in a new window: go to edit meeting (the next point explains how).


Change the settings to open in a new tab, it will avoid your students seeing an external URL message when they click your meeting link as it looks like it is a broken link. 

Follow these steps to change how the link opens

a. Hover over the meeting link and click the action link that appears to the right.

Action link

b. Click Edit.

Edit

c. Scroll down until you find the Web Link Options section, then select Open in New Window: Yes.

New window option

d. Click Submit.

Submit button


3. Edit meeting information

You may wish to add some more detail to the meeting description, such as instructions for your students.

a. Hover over the meeting link and click the action link that appears to the right.

Action link

b. Click Edit.

Edit

c. Scroll down until you find the Description section, then type your instructions.

 Description

d. Click Submit.

Submit button


If you want to move your meeting link into a different content area within your module, you can do this in the same way as other content items. Just make sure it is easy for your students to find.

a. Hover over the meeting link and click the action link that appears to the right.

Action link

b. Click Move.

Move link

c. Click the Browse button next to Destination folder.

Browse

d. Choose the content area that you want to move the meeting link into. This list will look different for every module, depending on the content areas you have added to your module menu.

Folder list

e. Click Submit.


If you need to cancel a meeting, you can delete it. Make sure you also inform your students as they won't get a notification about this.

a. Hover over the meeting link and click the action link that appears to the right.

Action link

b. Click Delete.

Delete


9. Breakout Rooms

Start a meeting as normal, the meeting organiser will now have access to the breakout rooms button on the meeting control bar. 

Please Note: Difference of the breakout room icon on Windows/Mac 

How do I make sure I can start using breakout rooms?

  • Make sure that the new meeting experience is enabled go to Teams -> Settings -> General -> Check “Turn on new meeting experience” (ITS can support you with this task)

  • Check and make sure you have the latest Teams updates (Update Microsoft Teams - Office Support)

a. Create Breakout rooms

Select Breakout rooms icon and choose how many rooms you would like. Select whether to automatically or manually assign your participants then select Create Rooms. To give each room a name, select the 3 dots ... next to each room, and select Rename room.

b. Assign Participants manually 

Expand the list under assign participants then select participants by ticking the checkbox on each name (hover your mouse over each name). Select the 3 dots ... and choose a room from the list. Repeat until all participants are assigned.

c. Start breakout rooms

Select the 3 dots next to a room name, then Open room or select Open rooms to open all rooms at once  Each room will change from closed to open status.

d. Breakout rooms in progress

To Join a breakout room, select the 3 dots next to the room, then Join. To return to the main meeting select 'Return'.

e. Send an announcement - to all breakout rooms

Select the 3 dots at the top of the breakout rooms menu, then Make an announcement.

f. Closing breakout rooms

To close a breakout room, select the 3 dots next to its' name, then Close room.

To close all rooms at once, select Close rooms.

g. Further information...

  • You can have a maximum of 50 breakout rooms.
  • Within breakout rooms, every participant can share content.
  • Separate meeting chats are kept for each breakout room.
  • The meeting organiser can interact with all chats.
  • If a breakout room participant wants to get the attention of the meeting organiser, they can tag them in the chat using an @mention. 
  • If any recordings are made they will only be available to participants of the breakout room where they were recorded.
  • Microsoft have promised that in future it will be possible to set more than one meeting organiser, to allow for greater control. 
  • Meeting organisers use the desktop client version of Teams, whereas participants can use either the desktop or mobile client, or even the web browser version.

h. Minimum Version Info...

Minimum desktop app version: 1.3.00.24755 (released Sep 20)

Minimum iOS build: 1.0.77.2020100603

Minimum Android build: 1.0.0.2020091301


Contact Digital Learning Arrow Right Icon

Your feedback

Plus Icon Tell us what you think of this site

This feedback form is for web page URLs that begin with 'teachlearn' e.g. https://teachlearn.leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Page last updated: 29/07/2020

Back to Top Button